Catchy Subject Lines Are Not All That

A common topic of interest among small businesses and nonprofits is creating a great subject line for their marketing emails.

The reality is catchy subject lines are not as important as the buzz they typically get.

The number one reason people will open your emails is because of the organization it is from.

According to a recent Constant Contact study, 64% of people open emails because of the organization it is from; compared with 47% of people opening emails because of what is in the subject line.

The take away: Don’t spend so much of the little time you have with your email’s subject line.

It’s most important to have a recognizable from email address and from name appearing in your subscriber’s inbox.

It’s also more important to consistently send good content so subscribers are interested in opening your email, regardless of how catchy your subject line is.

Want more tips for a great from name, from email address, and great email content?

Attend Constant Contact’s free Newsletter Makeover webinar:

Thursday, May 17th @ 7 AM EST (12 PM BST)

Wednesday, May 23rd @ 2 PM EST (7 PM BST)

Tell us your thoughts